ATSE Fellows win Eureka prizes

ATSE Fellows win Eureka prizes

Three ATSE Fellows were among the winners of the 2018 Eureka Prizes.

Professor Andrew Blakers FTSE led a team that discovered 22,000 possible sites in Australia for pumped hydro energy storage, showing that a 100 per cent renewable energy future is possible in the country. The team won the Eureka Prize for Environmental Research.

Professor Tony Weiss AM FTSE won the Eureka Prize for Innovation in Medical Research for helping create a surgical glue, called MeTro, which can patch wounds in 60 seconds with UV light activation. Unlike staples or stitches, MeTro’s high elasticity means it can seal body wounds that continually expand and contract without the risk of reopening, such as arteries, lungs and hearts.

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer FTSE won the Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science. He is a world leader in the chemistry of catalysis aims to generate and translate new knowledge into commercial solutions for a more sustainable world.

JPEG of the Eureka Prizes Logo.